About Fabian
In the Senate
Newfoundland and Labrador
Photo Gallery
Expense Disclosure
Contact Fabian





Newfoundland, the youngest of the Canadian provinces, joined Confederation at midnight on 31 March 1949. Some portion of the coast of this easternmost part of Canada was assuredly one of the first parts of the continent seen by Europeans. Tenth-century Viking explorers from Iceland and Greenland saw Labrador and settled briefly in the north part of the Island of Newfoundland. In the late 15th century the Grand Banks southeast of Newfoundland were known to Basque, French and Portuguese fishermen.

 Since the time of King Henry VII of England, who on 10 August 1497 awarded John Cabot 10 for finding "the new isle," the Island has been referred to as Terra Nova, but more commonly in the English-speaking world as Newfoundland. The French call it Terre-Neuve; the Spanish and Portuguese still call it Terra Nova.

The Labrador part of the province may have received its name from the Portuguese designation, "Terra del Lavradors."Cape Spear, near St. John's, is the easternmost point of the province and thus, excepting Greenland, of North America.

From Cape Spear across the Atlantic to the nearest point in Ireland it is nearly 3000 km. Winnipeg, in mid-Canada, and Miami in the southeast US are farther away - 3100 km and 3400 km respectively. The south coast of the province lies astride lat 47 N lat, but Cape Chidley on the northernmost tip of Labrador is just north of 60 N lat, giving the province a total north-south extent of just over 1800 km.

For more information on Newfoundland and Labrador visit:



Flag of Newfoundland and Labrador