About Fabian
In the Senate
Newfoundland and Labrador
Photo Gallery
Expense Disclosure
Contact Fabian





The Senate is the Upper Chamber of Parliament, and is composed of 105 members. Senators are appointed by the Governor General for each province and territory on the recommendation of the Prime Minister. Senators examine and revise legislation, investigate national issues, and represent regional, provincial and minority interests. Senators can also introduce their own bills, subject to certain constitutional limitations. No bill can become law until it has been passed by the Senate. Senators also study major social, legal and economic issues through their committee work.

For more information regarding the Senate including past and current members, its officers and officials, and its procedures.